vthost.blogg.se

Microsoft synctoy alternative
Microsoft synctoy alternative










  1. #MICROSOFT SYNCTOY ALTERNATIVE HOW TO#
  2. #MICROSOFT SYNCTOY ALTERNATIVE INSTALL#
  3. #MICROSOFT SYNCTOY ALTERNATIVE WINDOWS 10#
  4. #MICROSOFT SYNCTOY ALTERNATIVE PC#

Normally we would all access files located on our NAS and use it as the “working” location.

#MICROSOFT SYNCTOY ALTERNATIVE PC#

My setup is a little different: one desktop PC and multiple laptops in our household. I decided to use this method but in a way that I think is potentially more reliable. I’d love to hear how you guys are approaching this issue – feel free to share in the comments below. Thank you for taking the time to read this update. This still does not remove the issue that providing the storage was suitable, there is no real reason the OneDrive client couldn’t use a network drive as destination and completely remove the need for workarounds but for now, I’m happy. You could improve this even further by reducing the timing on the scheduled task but 15 minutes is fine for my needs. I can work on N:\Data from any of my network PCs and also when away from the office on OneDrive and within a maximum of 15 minutes everything is synchronised. If it does take longer – you will need to adjust the frequency of the scheduled task to accommodate. It would be worth testing to ensure your Sync can actually complete inside the 15 minute window, the last thing you want is the script running again before a sync can complete. Yes it means that data can sometimes be 15 minutes old, but I haven’t yet had this issue cause me a problem. SyncToy 2.1 has been working flawlessly like this for over a year now and I’m very happy with the solution. Pour a coffee and watch the solution just work.Setup a task schedule on the Server to run the batch file every 15 minutes.I’ve witnessed SyncToy hang after completing a Sync before and this ensures any rogue processes are closed before the script runs again. The taskkill line is introduced to kill any hung SyncTo圜md.exe processes.

microsoft synctoy alternative

"C:\Program Files\SyncToy 2.1\SyncTo圜md.exe" -r OneDriveSync

  • Setup SyncToy with a folder pair (C:\users\me\One Drive and N:\Data).
  • #MICROSOFT SYNCTOY ALTERNATIVE WINDOWS 10#

    In summary all I did on Windows 10 was the following: The Setup of SyncToy was so straight forward, I see little point in covering the steps here in any amount of detail.

    #MICROSOFT SYNCTOY ALTERNATIVE INSTALL#

    So I took another look at the problem with this point being compromised and I took a look at SyncToy 2.1 Install and Configure SyncToy 2.1 As long as the process was automatic, I think I’d be fine. I asked myself was this something I really needed, or something that would just be nice to have. Then I focused on the real time updating objective. In the end I shortened the list down to the following two that were good candidates for compromise:Īs much as I started to look at commercial offerings, it pained me that I’d be going to use a paid for product to make up for weaknesses in something that was free (unless you count the number of hours I’ve spent trying to fix this!).

    microsoft synctoy alternative

    I finally decided to return to the objectives to see if any of them could be compromised in order to achieve a good outcome. I tried a number of alternative solutions including mapping VHD files and storing them on the NAS drive, other sync programs and even considered (only for a second mind you) looking at alternative cloud storage providers. Every application that was installed eventually ended up with it’s own issues. I am sorry to say that despite trying several solutions for this nothing gave me exactly what I needed without some level of compromise. The Home Network Topology remains the same: The Home Network Topology used for Syncing the NAS drive to OneDrive Ensure the Sync is a true two way process to capture any changes on.Sync automatically and use real time updating, none of this task scheduler rubbish!.

    microsoft synctoy alternative

    Sync N:\Data (My mapped NAS location) with OneDrive.

    #MICROSOFT SYNCTOY ALTERNATIVE HOW TO#

    In the original post – How to Sync a NAS Drive with OneDrive I did back in 2014, I covered the basics of what I was trying to achieve: One of the most popular posts on this blog has been How to Sync a NAS Drive with OneDrive and since writing it and banging my head against the obvious limitations in the OneDrive client I’ve been using SyncToy for over a year now without a single issue. SyncToy has saved the day when it comes to keeping my NAS drive up to date with OneDrive.












    Microsoft synctoy alternative